L.A. Film Critics Association Names Moonlight Best Film

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association named Moonlight best picture of the year. Adam Driver (Paterson) and Isabelle Huppert (Elle and Things to Come) were awarded top acting honors.

Moonlight’s Barry Jenkins received the top directing prize, while the LAFC gave Damien Chazelle second prize for his musical love letter to Los Angeles, La La Land.

The accolades and honors have been piling up for iconic French actress Isabelle Huppert to make her the front runner this awards season.

The 42nd annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards ceremony will be held Saturday, January 14th at the InterContinental, Los Angeles. As previously announced, Shirley MacLaine will receive the 2016 Career Achievement Award.

raoul peck, i am not your negro, l.a. film critics association
Raoul Peck, Director of “I Am Not Your Negro” | Paula Schwartz Photo

Award winners are:

PICTURE: “Moonlight”

Runner-up: “La La Land”

DIRECTOR: Barry Jenkins, “Moonlight”

Runner-up: Damien Chazelle, “La La Land”

ACTOR: Adam Driver, “Paterson”

Runner-up: Casey Affleck, “Manchester by the Sea”

ACTRESS: Isabelle Huppert, “Elle” and “Things to Come”

Runner-up: Rebecca Hall, “Christine”

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Mahershala Ali, “Moonlight”

Runner-up: Issey Ogata, “Silence”

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Lily Gladstone, “Certain Women”

Runner-up: Michelle Williams, “Manchester by the Sea”

SCREENPLAY: Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos, “The Lobster”

Runner-up: Kenneth Lonergan, “Manchester by the Sea”

ANIMATION: “Your Name”

Runner-up: “The Red Turtle”


Runner-up:  “Toni Erdmann”


Runner-up: “O.J.: Made in America”

NEW GENERATION: Trey Edward Shults and Krisha Fairchild, “Krisha”

FILM EDITING: Bret Granato, Maya Mumma, Ben Sozanski, “O.J.: Made in America”

Runner-up: Tom Cross, “La La Land”

CINEMATOGRAPHY: James Laxton, “Moonlight”

Runner-up: Linus Sandgren, “La La Land”

PRODUCTION DESIGN: Ryu Seong-hee, “The Handmaiden”

Runner-up: David Wasco, “La La Land”

MUSIC/SCORE: Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, “La La Land”

Runner-up: Mica Levi, “Jackie”

DOUGLAS E. EDWARDS INDEPENDENT/EXPERIMENTAL FILM/VIDEO: “The Illinois Parables,” from writer-director Deborah Stratman

SPECIAL CITATION: Turner Classic Movies, for preserving historic cinema and bringing it to a wider audience via FilmStruck


Founded in 1975, The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) is comprised of Los Angeles-based, professional film critics working in the Los Angeles print and electronic media.  Each December, LAFCA members vote on the year’s Achievement Awards, honoring screen excellence on both sides of the camera. Plaques of recognition are then presented to winners during LAFCA’s annual awards ceremony, held in mid-January.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *