National Board of Review Names ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’ Best Film

Brie Larson and Jacob Tremblay of "Room" | Paula Schwartz Photo
Brie Larson and Jacob Tremblay of “Room” | Paula Schwartz Photo

The National Board of Review, which will hold its gala Tuesday, January 5, named “Mad Max: Fury Road” the best film of 2015.

The NBR throws the glitziest, most glamorous shindig of the year, and because they love their celebrities, who always attend, they tend to nominate big names.

What does it mean for the Oscar race? Not much, although it’s worth paying attention to the NBR choices because many of these films will be in the Oscar mix. And since the winners are announced in advance, the emphasis is on partying. The ceremony, a boozy affair, is not televised, so anything goes and speeches are often long, raunchy and hilarious.

For example, it’s unlikely “Mad Max: Fury Road,” will be a best film nominee in the Oscar race, but director Ridley Scott for “The Martian” and Brie Larson for best actress for “Room,” are real contenders for little gold men.

Jennifer Jason Leigh of "The Hateful Eight" | Paula Schwartz Photo
Jennifer Jason Leigh of “The Hateful Eight” | Paula Schwartz Photo

NBR President Annie Schulhof said, “2015 has been a banner year for popular cinema. We are thrilled to be awarding George Miller and Ridley Scott, two iconic filmmakers at the top of their game, while also celebrating the next generation of talent.”

Quentin Tarantino’s “The Hateful Eight,” which started out as a reading and is theatrical – early on, Tarantino considered presenting it as a play – is an interesting choice for best screenplay, although the language and violence is extreme even for the “Pulp Fiction” director.

Below is a full list of the awards given by the National Board of Review:

Best Film:  Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Director:  Ridley Scott – The Martian

Best Actor:  Matt Damon – The Martian

Best Actress: Brie Larson – Room

Best Supporting Actor:  Sylvester Stallone – Creed

Best Supporting Actress:  Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight

Best Original Screenplay:  Quentin Tarantino – The Hateful Eight

Best Adapted Screenplay:  Drew Goddard – The Martian

Best Animated Feature:  Inside Out

Breakthrough Performance:  Abraham Attah – Beasts of No Nation; Jacob Tremblay – Room

Best Directorial Debut:  Jonas Carpignano – Mediterranea

Best Foreign Language Film:  Son of Saul

Best Documentary:  Amy

William K. Everson Film History Award:  Cecilia De Mille Presley

Best Ensemble:  The Big Short

Spotlight Award:  Sicario, for Outstanding Collaborative Vision

NBR Freedom of Expression Award:  Beasts of No Nation; Mustang

Top Films:
 Bridge of Spies
; Creed
; The Hateful Eight; 
Inside Out; 
The Martian
; Room
; Sicario
; Spotlight
; Straight Outta Compton

Top 5 Foreign Language Films: 
Goodnight Mommy; 
The Second Mother; 
The Tribe

Top 5 Documentaries: 
Best of Enemies
; The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution; 
The Diplomat; Listen to Me Marlon; 
The Look of Silence

Top 10 Independent Films: ’71; 
45 Years; 
Cop Car; Ex Machina; 
It Follows; James White; 
Mississippi Grind; 
Welcome to Me; 
While We’re Young


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *