Alfonso Cuaron DGA

DGA Awards Alfonso Cuarón Top Prize for Gravity

Alfonso Cuaron Sandra Bullock DGA
Alfonso Cuaron and Sandra Bullock at the 2014 Directors Guild of America Awards

Alfonso Cuarón won the top prize for “Gravity” at the 66th Annual Directors Guild of America Awards gala Saturday night, Jan. 25, 2014 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

Jane Lynch hosted the ceremony before an audience of more than 1,600 guests. Presenters included Ben Affleck, Sandra Bullock, Nick Cannon, Don Cheadle, Steve Coogan, Bradley Cooper, Jon Favreau, Anna Kendrick and Kerry Washington.

PHOTOS: Sandra Bullock at the 2014 Directors Guild of America Awards

In the last month, “Gravity” has been running a dead heat with “12 Months a Slave”; last week when the Producers Guild of America announced their awards, both movies tied for best film.

With the win Saturday, “Gravity” has pulled ahead and is the film to beat in the Oscar race.

Why do the DGA awards matter? Last year the DGA awarded Ben Affleck best director for “Argo.” The Academy hadn’t even nominated him for best director. Then Affleck’s movie went on to win best film. Of all the awards presentations, the DGA is probably the best indicator of what is to come for both best picture and best director in the Oscar race.

Ben Affleck presented the “Gravity” director with his award and said, “I hope this isn’t a tie. That would be embarrassing.”

Clearly flustered and stunned at his win, the Mexican director, who co-wrote the “Gravity” script with his son, Jonas Cuarón, said in a heavy accent, “I am humbled by it (the honor), being recognized by your peers.” 

Steven Soderbergh, who has said he will no longer make feature films, won for best directing achievement for movies for television and mini-series for “Behind the Candelabra,” starring Michael Douglas and Matt Damon.

Vince Gilligan, the creator and director of “Breaking Bad,” won for best director of a dramatic television series.

Complete List of DGA Awards Winners:  

Alfonso Cuaron —  Gravity (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Cuarón’s Directorial Team:
Unit Production Manager: David Siegel (Arizona Unit)
First Assistant Directors: Josh Robertson, Stephen Hagen (Arizona Unit)
Second Assistant Director: Ben Howard

Vince Gilligan — Breaking Bad, “Felina” (AMC)
Gilligan’s Directorial Team:
Unit Production Manager: Stewart A. Lyons
Assistant Unit Production Manager: James Paul Hapsas
First Assistant Director: Nina Jack
Second Assistant Directors: Anna Ramey, Louis Lanni
Second Second Assistant Director: Joann Connolly
Additional Second Assistant Director: Marcia Woske

Steven Soderbergh — Behind the Candelabra (HBO)
Soderbergh’s Directorial Team:
Unit Production Manager: Michael Polaire
First Assistant Director: Gregory Jacobs
Second Assistant Director: Jody Spilkoman
Second Second Assistant Director: Lynn Struiksma

Beth McCarthy-Miller — 30 Rock, “Hogcock!/Last Lunch” (NBC)
McCarthy-Miller’s Directorial Team:
Unit Production Manager: Diana Schmidt
First Assistant Director: Stephen Lee Davis
Second Assistant Director: Vanessa Hoffman
Assistant UPM: Bill Sell

Jehane Noujaim– The Square (Netflix)

Don Roy King — Saturday Night Live, “Saturday Night Live With Host Justin Timberlake” (NBC)
King’s Directorial Team:
Associate Directors: Michael Mancini, Michael Poole, Matt Yonks, Bob Caminiti
Stage Managers: Gena Rositano , Chris Kelly

Amy Schatz — An Apology to Elephants (HBO)

Glenn Weiss  — The 67th Annual Tony Awards (CBS)
Weiss’ Directorial Team:
Associate Directors: Ken Diego, Robin Abrams, Stefani Cohen, Ricky Kirshner
Stage Managers: Garry Hood, Phyllis Digilio-Kent, Peter Epstein, Andrew Feigin, Lynn Finkel, Doug Fogel, Jeffry Gitter, Arthur Lewis, Jeffrey M. Markowitz, Joey Meade, Seth Mellman, Tony Mirante, Cyndi Owgang, Jeff Pearl, Elise Reaves, Lauren Class Schneider

Neil P. DeGroot — 72 Hours, “The Lost Coast” (TNT)

Martin de Thurah — Human Race, Acura MDX 2014 — Mullen
First Assistant Director: Jey Wada
Second Assistant Director: Dillon Neaman
Second Second Assistant Director: Erin Stern


Steven Soderbergh — Robert B. Aldrich Service Award
In recognition of extraordinary service to the Directors Guild of America and to its membership.

Shonda Rhimes and Betsy Beers — DGA Diversity Award
In recognition of their commitment to diversity hiring and providing jobs and opportunities to women and minorities in DGA-covered categories.

Lee Blaine — Frank Capra Achievement Award
Given to an Assistant Director or Unit Production Manager in recognition of career achievement in the industry and service to the Directors Guild of America.

Vincent DeDario — Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award
Given to an Associate Director or Stage Manager in recognition of career achievement in the industry and service to the Directors Guild of America.



, ,



One response to “DGA Awards Alfonso Cuarón Top Prize for Gravity”

  1. DGA Awards Alfonso Cuarón Top Prize for Gravity

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *