Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones S3 Premieres March 31 – Watch a Trailer and Recap

Game of Thrones

Ready for more “Game of Thrones“? I’ve got some catching up to do, but rest assured I’ll be ready when season three of the HBO series premieres March 31 at 9 pm ET/PT.

If you’re not familiar with the show, it’s based on the bestselling fantasy book series by George R.R. Martin and tells an epic story of treachery and nobility set on the continent of Westeros, where summers and winters can last years, and only the lust for power is eternal.

As season three begins, the Lannisters hold absolute dominion over King’s Landing after repelling Stannis Baratheon’s forces. Yet Robb Stark, King in the North, still controls much of the South as well, and has yet to lose a battle. In the Far North, Mance Rayder has united the wildlings into the largest army Westeros has ever seen. Only the Night’s Watch stands between him and the Seven Kingdoms, but nobody knows what happened to its Lord Commander and the force he led beyond the Wall.

Across the Narrow Sea, Daenerys Targaryen – reunited with her three growing dragons – ventures into Slaver’s Bay in search of ships to take her home and allies to conquer it.

Episode #21: “Valar Dohaeris” (Sunday, March 31, 9 pm ET/PT): Jon is brought before Mance Rayder, the King Beyond the Wall, while the Night’s Watch survivors retreat south. In King’s Landing, Tyrion asks for his reward. Littlefinger offers Sansa a way out. Cersei hosts a dinner for the royal family. Daenerys sails into Slaver’s Bay. Written for television by David Benioff & D.B. Weiss; directed by Daniel Minahan.

Here’s the Season Three Extended Trailer:

Along with returning regulars Peter Dinklage (Tyrion Lannister), Michelle Fairley (Catelyn Stark), Lena Headey (Cersei Lannister), Emilia Clarke (Daenerys Targaryen), Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (Jaime Lannister) and more, look for new cast members Ciarán Hinds (Mance Rayder), Diana Rigg (Lady Olenna Tyrell), Mackenzie Crook (Orell) and many others.

The executive producers of “Game of Thrones” are David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, Carolyn Strauss, Frank Doelger, Bernadette Caulfield; co-executive producers, Guymon Casady, Vince Gerardis, George R.R. Martin, Vanessa Taylor; produced by Chris Newman, Greg Spence.

For more on the series, visit “Game of Thrones” on Facebook and Twitter (hashtag #GameOfThrones).

Here’s a recap of Season Two: 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *