Critics’ Choice Movie Awards Choose Argo, Affleck Best Film, Director

Ben Affleck in Argo

The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) announced the winners of the 18th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards last night on The CW Channel.

Ben Affleck was the big winner, with “Argo” chosen best film of the year and Affleck named best director. Affleck was given a standing ovation, which may have taken out some of the sting for the snub that morning by the Academy of Motion Pictures and Sciences who left his name off their best director list.

Best actress honors went to Jessica Chastain for “Zero Dark Thirty.” Jennifer Lawrence received two awards: she was named best actress in a comedy for “Silver Linings Playbook” and given best actress in an action film honors for “The Hunger Games.”

Daniel Craig was named best action actor for “Skyfall,” and Daniel Day-Lewis received the best actor in a drama trophy for “Lincoln.”

Bradley Cooper received the prize for best actor in a comedy for “Silver Linings Playbook.” The movie also picked up best ensemble and best comedy awards.

The BFCA spread the love around this year. They recognized Quentin Tarantino for his original screenplay for “Django Unchained” and Tony Kushner for his adapted screenplay for “Lincoln.”

Claudio Miranda was honored for his “Life of Pi” cinematography. Quvenzhane Wallis won as best young Actress for her breakout performance in “Beasts of the Southern Wild, and Philip Seymour Hoffman (“The Master”) and Anne Hathaway (“Les Miserables) were named best supporting actors.

Writer-producer-director Judd Apatow received the “Critics’ Choice Louis XIII Genius Award,” presented to him by Rebel Wilson, who appeared in “Bridesmaids.” The award was created to honor “an unprecedented demonstration of excellence in the cinematic arts.”

Movie fans also got a chance to vote, and they named “Twilight” as their favorite film franchise. The other nominees included: Batman, Harry Potter, Indiana Jones, James Bond/007, Lord of the Rings, Spider-Man, Star Trek, Star Wars, and Toy Story.

The BFCA is the largest film critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing more than 270 television, radio and online critics.

The shinding always brings out some impressive celebrity wattage. Here’s a list of some of the stars who attended: Amy Adams; Ben Affleck; Christian Bale; Kathryn Bigelow; Jack Black; Emily Blunt; Gina Carano; Jessica Chastain; George Clooney; Bradley Cooper; Marion Cotillard; Daniel Day-Lewis; Robert De Niro; Ann Dowd; Elle Fanning; Sally Field; John Goodman; Joseph Gordon-Levitt; Anne Hathaway; John Hawkes; Kara Hayward; Tom Holland; Tom Hooper; Helen Hunt; Hugh Jackman; Tommy Lee Jones; Jennifer Lawrence; Ang Lee; Leslie Mann; Matthew McConaughey; Joaquin Phoenix; David O. Russell; Amanda Seyfried; Suraj Sharma; Steven Spielberg; Omar Sy; Chris Tucker; Quvenzhane Wallis; Naomi Watts; Jacki Weaver; and Rebel Wilson.


Best Picture – Argo
Best Actor – Daniel Day-Lewis
Best Actress – Jessica Chastain
Best Supporting Actor – Philip Seymour Hoffman
Best Supporting Actress – Anne Hathaway
Best Young Actor/Actress – Quvenzhane Wallis
Best Acting Ensemble – Silver Linings Playbook
Best Director – Ben Affleck
Best Original Screenplay – Quentin Tarantino
Best Adapted Screenplay – Tony Kushner
Best Cinematography – Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi)
Best Art Direction – Sarah Greenwood/Katie Spencer (Anna Karenina)
Best Editing – William Goldenberg/Dylan Tichenor (Zero Dark Thirty)
Best Costume Design – Jacqueline Durran (Anna Karenina)
Best Makeup – Cloud Atlas
Best Visual Effects – Life of Pi
Best Animated Feature – Wreck-It Ralph
Best Action Movie – Skyfall
Best Actor in an Action Movie – Daniel Craig
Best Actress in an Action Movie – Jennifer Lawrence
Best Comedy – Silver Linings Playbook
Best Actor in a Comedy – Bradley Cooper
Best Actress in a Comedy – Jennifer Lawrence
Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie – Looper
Best Foreign Language Film – Amour
Best Documentary Feature – Searching for Sugarman
Best Song – SkyfallBest Score – John Williams


2 responses to “Critics’ Choice Movie Awards Choose Argo, Affleck Best Film, Director”

  1. […] Tommy Lee Jones; Jennifer Lawrence; Ang Lee; Leslie Mann; Matthew McConaughey; … Read more on Reel Life With Jane 'Project Runway: All Stars': Bottom Two Contestants Have One Hour To … – Ezra […]

  2. […] The 18th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards were held last night and televised on The CW network. Check out the full list of winners here. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *