Oscars 2010: Complete List of Winners

oscars-2010-statues The 82nd Annual Academy Awards were held tonight at the Kodak Theater in Hollywood. Neil Patrick Harris opened the show with a fun song-and-dance number, and hosts Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin did a great job of keeping things moving along.

What I loved most is that they didn’t belittle anyone in their jokes, and that’s (one of the ways) in which Ricky Gervais fell flat with his Golden Globes hosting gig. You don’t have to insult people to be funny, because it usually comes off the exact opposite.

I especially loved the backstage shot where Martin and Baldwin were sitting in their Snuggies watching TV. Those guys were a lot of fun, and I would gladly support them hosting the Oscars or other awards ceremonies in the future.

There were no real surprises with the winners. Everyone I thought was going to win actually won, and having Barbra Streisand present the Best Director Oscar to Kathryn Bigelow was a dead giveaway that she’d win. Streisand was overlooked with a best director nomination for ‘The Prince of Tides,’ after she scored noms for best director at the Golden Globes and Directors Guild of America in 1992.

Both Sandra Bullock and Jeff Bridges were shoe-ins for the Best Actor wins, as was Mo’Nique and Christoph Waltz for Supporting Actor, and ‘The Hurt Locker’ for Best Picture.

After the jump, check out the complete  list of winners…

The Blind Side
District 9
An Education
**The Hurt Locker – winner
Inglourious Basterds
A Serious Man
Up in the Air

James Cameron: Avatar
**Kathryn Bigelow: The Hurt Locker – winner
Quentin Tarantino: Inglourious Basterds
Lee Daniels: Precious
Jason Reitman: Up in the Air

**Jeff Bridges: Crazy Heart – winner
George Clooney: Up in the Air
Colin Firth: A Single Man
Morgan Freeman: Invictus
Jeremy Renner: The Hurt Locker

**Sandra Bullock: The Blind Side – winner
Helen Mirren: The Last Station
Carey Mulligan: An Education
Gabourey Sidibe: Precious
Meryl Streep: Julie & Julia

Matt Damon: Invictus
Woody Harrelson: The Messenger
Christopher Plummer: The Last Station
Stanley Tucci: The Lovely Bones
**Christoph Waltz: Inglourious Basterds – winner

Penelope Cruz: Nine
Vera Farmiga: Up in the Air
Maggie Gyllenhaal: Crazy Heart
Anna Kendrick: Up in the Air
**Mo’Nique: Precious – winner

Fantastic Mr. Fox
The Princess and the Frog
The Secret of Kells
**Up – winner

**Mark Boal: The Hurt Locker – winner
Quentin Tarantino: Inglourious Basterds
Alessandro Camon, Oren Moverman: The Messenger
Joel Coen, Ethan Coen: A Serious Man
Bob Peterson, Pete Docter: Up

Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell: District 9
Nick Hornby: An Education
Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche: In the Loop
**Geoffrey Fletcher: Precious – winner
Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner: Up in the Air


Art Direction
Avatar, Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair

Avatar, Mauro Fiore

Costume Design
The Young Victoria, Sandy Powell

The Hurt Locker, Kathryn Bigelow

Documentary (Feature)
The Cove, Louie Psihoyos and Fisher Stevens

Documentary (Short Subject)
Music by Prudence, Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett

Film Editing
The Hurt Locker, Bob Murawski and Chris Innis

Foreign Language Film
El Secreto de Sus Ojos, Argentina

Star Trek, Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow

Music (Original Score)
Up, Michael Giacchino

Music (Original Song)
The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart) from Crazy Heart, Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett

Short Film (Animated)
Logorama, Nicolas Schmerkin

Short Film (Live Action)
The New Tenants, Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

Sound Editing
The Hurt Locker, Paul N.J. Ottosson

Sound Mixing
The Hurt Locker, Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett

Visual Effects
Avatar, Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones


2 responses to “Oscars 2010: Complete List of Winners”

  1. […] the article here: Oscars 2010: Complete List of Winners tweetmeme_url = […]

  2. […] only four other women who have been nominated. Kathryn Bigelow is the only woman to win the honor, in 2009 for “The Hurt Locker.” This year, history could be made if Ava DuVernay, a strong contender, is nominated for her […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *